Steve Watson Named Chairman of the Board of DSM for 2013

Posted on January 10th, 2013


Dallas, TX… Dallas Summer Musicals, Inc., (DSM), the largest producer of live theatrical entertainment in the Southwest, has named Steve Watson, a business executive and civic leader, Chairman of the DSM Board of Directors for 2013.  Watson was installed as Board Chairman at DSM’s annual meeting in December 2012.

Steve Watson-Head Shot (2010)As Managing Director of the Dallas office of Stanton Chase International, a member of the Association of Executive Search Consultants ranked within the top 10 global retained search firms, Steve Watson was recognized in 2008, 2009 and 2010 by Business Week magazine as one of the “50 Most Influential Headhunters in the World.”  Watson previously served as International Chairman from 2004-2010.

Prior to his search career, Steve served as President and CEO, and Chairman of Micronyx, and as regional director for the south central region for Tandem Computers.  He was with Burroughs Corporation early in his career, where he held management positions of increasing responsibility.  He received his Bachelor of Science degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Wisconsin, and his MBA from Southern Methodist University (SMU).

Currently, Mr. Watson serves on the Board of SMU’s Athletic Forum, the Board of Governors of Northwood Club, and the Board of the North Texas Wisconsin Alumni Association. He previously served as President of Northwood Club; a mentor for SMU’s Cox School of Business Executive MBA Scholarship Program; a Board Member of the Metroplex Technology Business Council; and  on the Board of Directors for Terra Nova Financial Group (“TNFG”). Steve and his wife, Sandy, are active members of Preston Hollow Presbyterian Church.

DSM President and Managing Director Michael Jenkins said, “We are very lucky to have a visionary business leader like Steve Watson take the helm as Chairman of the Board of Dallas Summer Musicals for 2013.He combines an impressive record of achievement in the business community with outstanding volunteer leadership in support of education and the arts, and has been a big supporter of DSM for some time.  Steve and Sandy chaired a very successful benefit gala, Curtain Call, for DSM last year.”

Steve Watson said, “I am deeply honored to have the privilege of serving Dallas’ preeminent nonprofit presenter of Broadway theatre in North Texas with year round performances for audiences of all ages.  We are very excited about our upcoming season with Wicked, Mary Poppins, Disney’s The Lion King, Sister Act, Catch Me If You Can, Priscilla, Queen of the Desert, and Flashdance; most of which are top selling shows on Broadway.  I am pleased to work with a dedicated and engaged Board of Directors who are committed to bringing the best of Broadway and family entertainment to North Texas.  We will also be starting our 2014 season with White Christmas during the 2013 holiday season.  We are thankful to have Michael Jenkins as our President and Managing Director, since he is well received and recognized on Broadway.  2013 will be an exceptional season for Dallas.”

Immediate Past Chairman of Dallas Summer Musicals is Darrell Jordan, with Rick Rogers serving as Chairman Elect.  Ruth Altshuler holds the title of Honorary Chair, and Michael A. Jenkins is President and Managing Director of DSM.

Other DSM Officers for 2013: Vice President – Audit, Jay Fox; Vice President – Community Outreach, Glenda Kemple; Vice President – Development, Ted Munselle; Vice President – Finance, Marvin Lane; Vice President – Marketing,  Alfie Pino; Vice President – Nominating, Darrell Jordan; Vice President – Personnel & Compensation, Wally Reed; Secretary, Steven C. Metzger; and Treasurer, Dorsey Baskin.

The 2013 executive committee members are Ruth Altshuler, Dorsey Baskin, Brice Beaird, Ed Bratton, Karl Chiao, Diane Childress, Scott Collier, O. Paul Corley, Jr., O. Paul Corley, Sr., Terry R. Dallas, Jerry Dilettuso, Barry Epstein, Patti Flowers, Jay Fox, Stanley D. Gardner, Rick Graham, Gary E. Griffith, Charles L. Gummer, Sally Hoglund, Darrell Jordan, Sheffie Kadane III, Rebecca Kay, Glenda Kemple, Marvin Lane,John McCoy, Steven C. Metzger, Andy Meyercord, Caven Miller, Ted Munselle, Alfonso E. Pino III, Gail Plummer, James W. Porter, Jr., Dick Quisenberry, Scott Ragland, W. Wallace Reed, Holly Reeves, Rick Rogers, Kenneth D. Sandstad, Kip Sowden, Donald K. Spies, Michael C. Steindorf, Paul A. Stotts, Larry Waisanen, Steve B. Watson, and Kit Williams.  Retiring executive committee members are Mike Albright and Laura Estrada.

Past Chairmen of the Board for DSM are Ed Bratton, O. Paul Corley, O. Paul Corley, Jr., Stanley D. Gardner, Rick Graham, Gary Griffith, Charles L. Gummer, Steven C. Metzger, Charles Pistor, Bud Porter, Dick Quisenberry, Ken Sandstad, Donald K. Spies, Michael Steindorf, Paul A. Stotts, and Kit Williams.  Past chairmen J. Frank Miller III, Douglas Perry, and Charles Pistor are deceased.

Now celebrating its 73rd season, Dallas Summer Musicals (DSM) is the largest producer of live theatrical entertainment in the Southwest, the second oldest summer theatre organization in the United States, and the sixth largest non-profit theatre company in the nation.  DSM has been entertaining North Texas audiences with the finest in live, musical theatre entertainment since 1941.

In addition to presenting national Broadway tours, DSM also produces shows on Broadway, presents and tours local productions, and is involved in developing new works. Dallas Summer Musicals’ affiliates include DSM Management Group, Inc. (DSM MGI), which manages the Music Hall at Fair Park.  In addition, DSM has its own school of musical theatre, which provides quality education and outreach to the youth of Dallas. For more information about Dallas Summer Musicals, visit their website at or call 214-421-5678.

# # #

For media information or to schedule an interview, please contact Jo Ann Holt at 469-363-7371 or