Sept. 30th is Deadline for DSM High School Musical Theatre Awards

Posted on August 19th, 2011


DSM Special Events and Announcements Media Contact: Sharon Adams



DSM High School Musical Theatre Awards Director:

Tracy Jordan

Direct: 214-413-3951



Three important dates for Dallas Metropolitan Area High Schools:


September 30 is Deadline to Register for the Dallas Summer Musicals High School Musical Theatre Awards for the 2011 – 2012 School Year


* Thursday, August 25: Join us for a showing of the movie Most Valuable Players at the Studio Movie Grill at Royal Lane and I-75 Central Expressway (admission rates apply) and


* Saturday, August 27: Orientation: The Music Hall at Fair Park for an orientation conference on the DSM HSMTA participation details. All Dallas metropolitan area high schools encouraged to participate!


(Dallas, TX – August 9, 2011) September 30, 2011 is the deadline to register for the Dallas Summer Musicals High School Musical Theatre Awards (DSM HSMTA) for the 2011 – 2012 school year. All Dallas metropolitan area high schools are encouraged to participate, including public and private schools. Each school can register for one musical to be judged. If they want to submit another one, the fee is $300.


Based on Broadway’s Tony® Awards, the DSM High School Musical Awards are designed to recognize and reward excellence in the production of high school musical theatre in 15 categories. In addition, DSM will be awarding scholarships of not less than $1,000 to several deserving students.


Tracy Jordan, DSM HSMTA director agrees with Michael A. Jenkins, President and Managing Director, DSM when he says, “This program has been in research and development for the past four years and we are thrilled to bring it to Dallas. We believe it will encourage participation in the musical arts not only in the high schools, but throughout our community. All of this would not be possible without the generosity of the DSM High School Musical Awards founding donors, Leah and Jerry Fullinwider.”


Eligible school districts include Collin County, Denton County, Kaufman County, Ellis County, Rockwall County, Highland Park ISD. Fort Worth has the Betty Buckley Awards, so high schools from Tarrant County are not eligible.


Winners of the Best Performance by an Actor and Actress will receive an all expenses paid trip for five days to New York City to represent their school in the National High School Musical Theatre Awards (the Jimmy Nederlander Award) for the chance to win prizes and scholarships, which vary by year. Scholarships will include the opportunity for merit and need-based assistance to attend NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts, New Studio on Broadway: Acting and Music Theatre contingent upon acceptance into the New Studio and New York University.


Three judges will visit each school and judge the performers in 15 categories:

Best Musical, Best Direction, Best Musical Direction, Best Choreography, Best Orchestra, Best Scenic Design, Best Costume Design, Best Lighting, Best Ensemble, Best Crew, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Featured Performer.

Ballots will be submitted to the accounting firm of Grant-Thornton. Finalists in each category will be announced and invited to perform at the 1st Annual DSM High School Musical Theatre Awards Ceremony show at the Music Hall at Fair Park in Spring 2012, when winners will be announced.


For more details about the Dallas program, Visit the website at


Link to the national program web site here:


Thursday, Aug. 25 @ 7:30pm at the Studio Movie Grill at I-75 and Royal Lane is showing a special presentation of the movie Most Valuable Players. This is a great documentary that follows three high schools as they compete in the Freddy Awards at the State Theater in Pennsylvania. The film captures the excitement and enthusiasm of the competition. Join us for this fun event to kick off our inaugural season. (Regular Studio Movie Grill admission applies. To view the trailer click on

Admission prices and categories are below.


Tracy Jordan, the DSM HSMTA coordinator, will conduct a Q & A after the movie.


For regular seating link below – remember to PICK AUGUST 25TH on drop down menu:


Adult (Sun to Thurs) $9.50. Student (11 plus w/ ID) $8.25. Senior (55 plus) $8.00. Child (10 and under) $7.00


Or RESERVED SEATING PRICES are available can be linked directly here:


SMG Dallas/Royal

11170 N Central Expressway (at Royal Lane. Northeast corner.)

Dallas, TX 75243



Saturday, August 27 at 10:00 AM:

Tracy Jordan, director for the DSM HSMTA program, will host a musical teachers orientation conference on Saturday, August 27 beginning promptly at 10:00 AM at The Music Hall at Fair Park.


The orientation conference will acquaint teachers with all aspects of the DSM HSMTA awards program. There will be a Q & A session afterwards.


Attendance is mandatory for those high school musical teachers who have already signed up to participate in the DSM High School Musical Theatre Awards program.


All area high school musical teachers are welcome to attend. There is no admission fee. We ask that you contact Tracy Jordan to let him know you are coming, so he can have information packets waiting for you: Direct: 214-413-3951 and email at


About Dallas Summer Musicals

Dallas Summer Musicals (DSM) is the preeminent nonprofit presenter of Broadway theatre in North Texas. DSM produces, presents and promotes excellence in live musical theatre with year-round performances for diverse audiences of all ages, impacting the lives of children and families through community outreach and education and enriching the cultural landscape of Dallas/Fort Worth, North Texas and the Southwest Region. Dallas Summer Musicals is presented by Comerica Bank. Season sponsors are American Airlines, Dallas Morning News, Metro PCS, WFAA Channel 8, and Texas Instruments. Visit the website at



For hi res photos, please contact Sharon Adams, ACPR: 972.773.9289 or