New Officers and Executive Committee Members

Posted on March 12th, 2010

st1\:*{behavior:url(#ieooui) }




New Officers and Executive Committee Members


Dallas,TX…Dallas Summer Musicals, Inc., presented byBank, the largest producer of live theatrical entertainment in the Southwest, has named Gary Griffith, local businessman and civic leader, Chairman of the Board of Directors for 2010.Griffithtook over as Board Chairman at the DSM board’s annual meeting in December 2009.


Griffithis President of the Today Foundation, an organization whose mission is to positively impact the lives of young people through drug abuse prevention, character development and education initiatives for at-risk youth.Because of his involvement with the foundation (,Griffith says he has a special interest in the Stage Right program created by Dallas Summer Musicals in partnership with the Dallas Police Department, to help bring at-risk students to the shows.


Michael Jenkins, President and Managing Director of Dallas Summer Musicals, said,

“We are extremely fortunate to have a leader of Gary Griffith’s caliber coming in as Chairman of the DSM board for our important 70th anniversary season.Griffith has a special passion for this community as demonstrated by his exemplary service over the past 30 years.”


Gary Griffith is a strong believer in community service, as demonstrated by his outstanding service as a civic leader, elected official and volunteer extraordinaire over the past four decades.Griffithsays he was taught the importance of public service and giving back to the community while growing up in East Dallas, where he graduated fromWoodrowWilsonHigh School.After earning a government degree at theUniversityofTexasinAustinin 1970,Griffithreturned toDallasand his exemplary service to the community, state and country began in earnest.The following list outlines just a few ofGriffith’s accomplishments: President of Safer Dallas Better Dallas; Board of Directors, State Fair of Texas Association; Chairman, White Rock Lake Conservancy;  former member of the Dallas City Council, Park Board, and Planning and Zoning Commission.


Griffithsaid, “I am honored to be asked to serve as Chairman of the Board for Dallas Summer Musicals’ 70th anniversary year in 2010.As a non-profit, we are fortunate to have a dedicated base of sponsors, subscribers and volunteers who work year-round to keep DSM a top-tier, nationally recognized arts organization.DSM has been entertainingNorth  Texas audiences with the finest in live, musical theatre entertainment since 1941, and we plan to continue this tradition for many years into the future.”


Griffith and his wife, Jackie, live in theLakewoodarea and are longtime members ofWilshireBaptistChurch.TheGriffithshave twin daughters and two grandsons.


Immediate Past Chairman of Dallas Summer Musicals is Dick Quisenberry, with Michael C. Steindorf serving as Chairman Elect.Ruth Altshuler holds the title of Honorary Chair, and Michael A. Jenkins is President and Managing Director of DSM.


Other DSM officers for 2010 include:

Vice President – Audit, Dorsey Baskin; Vice President – Community Outreach, Darrell Jordan; Vice President – Finance, Michael S. Albright; Vice President – Investment, Ted Munselle; Vice President – Long Range Planning, Stan Gardner;Vice President – Marketing/PR/Special Events,Brice Beaird; Vice President – Nominating, Dick Quisenberry; Vice President – Personnel & Compensation, Steve Watson; Secretary, Steven C. Metzger; and Treasurer, Richard L. Rogers.


The 2010 executive committee members are Michael S. Albright, Ruth Altshuler, Dorsey Baskin, Brice Beaird, Ed Blessing, Ed Bratton, Karl Chiao, O. Paul Corley,, Jr., O. Paul Corley, Sr., C.E. “Doc” Cornutt, Terry R. Dallas, Laura V. Estrada, Jay Fox, Christine Gancarz, Stan Gardner, Rick Graham, Gary E. Griffith, Charles L. Gummer, Darrell Jordan, Rebecca Kay, Marvin Lane, Meredy McClure, John McCoy, Bill Melton, Steven C. Metzger, Caven Miller, Ted Munselle, William J. O’Dwyer, Alfonso E. Pino III, Charles Pistor, James W. Porter, Jr., Dick Quisenberry, Scott Ragland, W. Wallace Reed, Kenneth D. Sandstad, Kip Sowden, Donald K. Spies, Michael C. Steindorf, Paul A. Stotts, Sandra K. Thomas, Steve B. Watson, and Kit Williams.


Past Chairmen of the Board for DSM are Ed Bratton, O. Paul Corley, O. Paul Corley, Jr., Stan Gardner, Rick Graham, Charles L. Gummer, Steven C. Metzger, Charles Pistor, Bud Porter, Dick Quisenberry, Ken Sandstad, Donald K. Spies, and Paul A. Stotts.Past chairmen J. Frank Miller III and Douglas Perry are deceased.


Now celebrating its 70th season, Dallas Summer Musicals (DSM), presented by Comerica Bank, is the largest producer of live theatrical entertainment in the Southwest, the second oldest summer theatre organization in the United States, and the sixth largest non-profit theatre company in the nation.DSM has been entertainingNorth Texasaudiences with the finest in live, musical theatre entertainment since 1941.


In addition to presenting national Broadway tours, DSM also produces shows on Broadway, presents and tours local productions, and is involved in developing new works. Dallas Summer Musicals’ affiliates include DSM Management Group, Inc. (DSM MGI), which manages the Music Hall at FairParkand the historical Majestic Theatre.In addition, DSM has its own school of musical theatre, which provides quality education and outreach to the youth of Dallas. For more information about Dallas Summer Musicals, visit their website at or call 214-421-5678.


# # #